Club Notes – 3rd of April 2017

The following are the results from our Seniors on Wednesday, 29 March 2017:
Winners: Tom Lally, Martie Healy, Simon Davis.
2nd: Dermot O’Mahony, John Fanning, Teresa Cullinane.
3rd: Johnny Costello, Martin Keane, Evelyn Clarke.

The FUN QUIZ Final took place on Friday 31st March in our Clubhouse. 9 teams battled it out to be 2017 Champions. Martie and Dominica Healy are to be congratulated for once again organising four nights of great enjoyment.

Talking of the “battle”: when it came to the final round of putting, any one of 6 teams could have claimed the title. Donal Killeen putted 4 out of 4 to grab the leaders jersey for Jim Grogan’s team “Arais Aris. James O’Malley who travelled from Louisburgh for the event and despite having a splint on his foot, made sure of a play off by equalling the leader’s score with his great putting.

In the play off, Noel Coen putted off against Donal Killeen. After a four hole play off The Arais Aris team of Jim Grogan, Charlie McDonnell, Adrian Grogan and Donal Killeen, were declared the winners. The team of Anne Conneally, Noel Coen, Sinead and James O’Malley came a close second. Our Captain Michael Conneally thanked all those who supported the quiz and made a special presentation to Martie and Dominica Healy for once again doing a GREAT JOB.

Mountbellew Golf Club are delighted to announce that we will be supporting GALWAY HOSPICE from Monday 10th of April until Sunday 23rd of April. A special 3 person, 9 holes scramble will be held in the club. This will be a re-entry competition, but if you’re not able to play, donations will also be accepted for this special cause.

The Malthouse 18 holes stroke event was held on Saturday 1st and Sunday 2nd April.
Winner was Pardraig Reddington (28) 65nett.
2nd; John Gannon (10) 67,
Gross: Joe Glennon (11) 76,
3rd: Tony Scappaticci (16) 68.
Thank you to the Bergin Family and the Malthouse for their generosity.

The Men’s 18 holes stableford competition on Saturday 8th and Sunday 9th April will be sponsored by Dr. Jim and Shiela Moore.

The Ladies Club 18 holes stableford competition on Thursday 30th March and Sunday 2nd April was sponsored by Geraldine Coyne and Geraldine Kitt.
Winner: Maureen King 33pts,
2nd: Anne Marie Murray 30pts,
3rd: Bridie Jones 30pts.
Thank you to Geraldine Coyne and Geraldine Kitt for their generous sponsorship.

The Men’s Club Winter League winners are as follows.:
Nett category: Brendan Burke.
Gross category: Gerry T. Flaherty.
Congratulations to both men.

The New 9 Holes Championship, organised by the R&A for both Men & Ladies will be held over the coming weeks. Information about this event will be announced in the coming days.

The club offers its sincerest sympathies to the Reynolds and Hyland Families on the recent death of Sean Reynolds. May He Rest In Peace.